user avatar

Jurriaan Schrofer

18 April, 2022

When are the official ë the public holidays in the Netherlands?

In the Netherlands there are eleven official ë the holidays. We list these holidays for 2022:
  • New Year's Day - Saturday, January 1, 2022
  • Good Friday - Friday, April 15, 2022
  • Easter Monday - Sunday, April 17, 2022
  • Easter Monday - Monday, April 18, 2022
  • King's Day - Wednesday 27 April 2022
  • Liberation Day - Thursday 5 May 2022
  • Ascension Day - Thursday 26 May 2022
  • Whit Monday - Sunday 5 June 2022
  • Whit Monday - Monday 6 June 2022
  • Boxing Day - Sunday, December 25, 2022
  • Boxing Day - Monday, December 26, 2022

Which other holidays are celebrated in the Netherlands?

The above holidays are the official ë the public holidays in the Netherlands. Of course, many more holidays are celebrated in our country. We are a country of many different cultures and traditions and the wealth of holidays is a reflection of this.
  • Epiphany - Thursday, January 6, 2022
  • Chinese New Year - Tuesday, February 1, 2022
  • Valentine's Day - Monday, February 14, 2022
  • Carnival - Sunday, February 27 to Tuesday, March 1, 2022
  • Holi - Friday, March 18, 2022
  • Labor Day - Sunday, May 1, 2022
  • Sugar Fest - Monday, May 2 to with Wednesday 4 May 2022
  • Remembrance Day - Wednesday 4 May 2022
  • Mother's Day - Sunday 8 May 2022
  • Father's Day - Sunday, June 19, 2022
  • Ketikoti - Friday, July 1, 2022
  • Feast of Sacrifice - Saturday, July 9 to Monday, July 11, 2022
  • Rosh Hashanah - Monday, September 26 and Tuesday, September 27, 2022
  • Yom Kippur - Wednesday, October 5, 2022
  • Diwali - Monday, October 24, 2022
  • Halloween - Monday, October 31, 2022
  • Sinterklaas - Monday, December 5, 2022
  • Hanukkah - Monday, December 19 to Monday, December 26, 2022
  • New Year's Eve - Saturday, December 31, 2022

Are employees free on official ë the holidays?

Employees are of course entitled to days off. They build up these days off themselves and can in principle use them whenever it suits them. An employee receives at least four weeks of vacation days per year. With a full-time working week, this means that the employee is entitled to at least 20 vacation days.
Public holidays are not mandatory days off for employees, so they are not always free on the official ë the Dutch public holidays. The employment contract or collective labor agreement stipulates which public holidays are days off. This can therefore differ greatly from company to company. If a public holiday in your company is an official ë The employee does not have to take holiday hours for this.

Free on Good Friday, Liberation Day and Christmas

New Year's Day on January 1, 2022

On New Year's Day we celebrate the start of the new year. Most people get a day off from their employer on this day because many companies and organizations are closed. Different rules apply in some sectors.

Good Friday on April 15, 2022

Good Friday is the Friday before Easter. On this day, Christians commemorate the crucifixion and death of Jesus Christ. There is generally no compulsory day off on Good Friday.

Easter on April 17 and 18, 2022

On Easter Sunday and Easter Monday, Christians celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. These days always fall on Sunday and Monday, and most employees get off on both days. This is not the case in some sectors, such as the hospitality industry and healthcare.

King's Day April 27, 2022

On King's Day we celebrate the birthday of the Dutch king. If April 27 falls on a Sunday, King's Day will be celebrated the day before. Most people get this day off.

Liberation Day on May 5, 2022

On Liberation Day we celebrate the liberation of the Netherlands in 1945 and freedom is celebrated. For most employees, this day is only a day off every five years, even if it is an official ë the holiday. Different regulations often apply in both the catering sector and the healthcare sector.

Ascension Day May 26, 2022

On Ascension Day, Christians celebrate the day that Jesus Christ ascended to his Father in heaven. Many employees have a day off on this day, but this can be deviated from by some companies.

Pentecost on June 5 and 6, 2022

During Pentecost, Christians celebrate the coming of the Holy Spirit. Whit Monday always falls on a Sunday and Whit Monday on a Monday. Many people get both days off, with the exception of workers in sectors such as healthcare and hospitality.

Christmas on December 25 and 26, 2022

Christmas is originally the birth of Jesus Christ. Most people get off on Christmas Day and Boxing Day, but there are sectors where different regulations apply: because many people want to celebrate their Christmas by eating out in the catering industry, the days off do not apply there.

Off on non-Christian holidays

If an employee is non-Christian, it may of course happen that he or she prefers to have off on a non-Christian holiday. Instead of Good Friday or Christmas, he or she prefers to celebrate Sugar Feast or Ketikoti. From a legal point of view, an employer must take into account the beliefs of his or her staff, but exactly how this is given shape is laid down in the collective labor agreement. For some employees it is therefore possible to skip a Christian holiday or exchange it for another religious holiday. However, it is not a standard rule.

Will payments continue on public holidays?

If a specific holiday has an official ë If you have a day off within your company, you naturally want to know whether these hours should be paid. This depends on the agreements laid down, both in the contract and in the applicable collective labor agreement. Within most branches the wages are still paid during the official ë the holidays. This is subject to the condition that the employee had worked on the day in question.

Is there more payment on public holidays?

It is therefore not self-evident that employees are given time off on official ë public holidays, such as Good Friday and Christmas. If the employee is scheduled to work on é é On one of these public holidays, he or she may be entitled to an allowance for working on a public holiday. This allowance is not always required by law, agreements have been made about it within the collective labor agreement. You can find the agreements made about this in the collective labor agreement or in the employment contract.

Free on non-official ë le public holidays

If an employee would like to take time off on é é one of the holidays that are not recognized as official ë Every Dutch public holiday, leave must be requested in good time. As an employer, you can object to this, for example if it does not fit within the schedule or if the leave is not possible for other reasons. If the employee takes the day off before this public holiday, this will be deducted from the available vacation days.

Official ë le public holidays in 2023

Do you want to know when the official ë Do public holidays in the Netherlands fall in 2023? Then you will find this data in the overview below.
  • New Year's Day - Sunday, January 1, 2023
  • Good Friday - Friday, April 7, 2023
  • Easter Monday - Sunday 9 April 2023
  • Easter Monday - Monday 10 April 2023
  • King's Day - Thursday 27 April 2023
  • Liberation Day - Friday, May 5, 2023
  • Ascension Day - Thursday, May 18, 2023
  • Whit Monday - Sunday 28 May 2023
  • Whit Monday - Monday 29 May 2023
  • Christmas Day - Monday, December 25, 2023
  • Boxing Day - Tuesday, December 26, 2023

Eitje

Alles voor je team in één oplossing

De beste en makkelijkste manier om teamleden aan te sturen. Roosters, communicatie, urenregistratie en meer.

Bekijk alle features